Experience

March 30, 2011

I am currently in the last semester of college. I am an Electronic Arts: Audio Studies major with a music minor.  I run sound at my school’s student union and I am interning at Studio 2100 under owner/engineer Jeff Smith.

I have to work on a lot of audio related projects for school. Most of them have been various sound for film or animation projects: mixing and editing dialogue, sound effects, and room tone.  Some of the projects have been music recording. Which is what this blog is all about.

I want to record and produce music for a living.

Right now I’m just trying to learn how to do that. I feel the most comfortable with micing and tracking. There are so many different ways to do it. It’s fun just to experiment with different micing techniques.

Today I started mixing a song for a project. Mixing is where I have a lot to learn.  It’s hard to teach because so much of it has to be learned by experience.  I started with the drums mixing drums and tried tweaking the EQ from scratch and from the plugin’s presets.  I couldn’t get the sound I wanted so I just Googled it!  Here’s what I found:

Kick drum:http://www.benvesco.com/blog/mixing/2007/mix-recipes-kick-drum-eq-and-compression/

Snare: http://www.benvesco.com/blog/mixing/2007/mix-recipes-snare-drum-eq-and-compression/

Toms: http://www.benvesco.com/blog/mixing/2008/mix-recipes-tom-eq-and-compression/

Today was a start, hopefully, to developing my own mixing style and methods, training my ear to hear issues I need to correct, and how to correct those issues with EQ.

Leave a comment